OUR STORY 

1982

Egg trade VKV was rechristened Egg trade E.K.E. Erik Kumpen and Irène Haesen took over the business, where they were both working at that time.

E.K.E. moved from Kermt to Schulen in Herk-de-Stad. Behind the house on Sint-Jorislaan 57 a new building was built where the eggs could be graded. 

1985

1999

Bart Kumpen - Erik and Irène's son - later joined the company. A few months later, the dioxin crisis broke out. Export customers in Germany and Luxembourg cancelled their orders. Bart then decided to follow a new strategy: building up a full range of eggs for sale to the Belgian retail trade. 

The range was expanded following the new strategy: the sale of free range eggs, marketing the Pick-Nick egg, initial steps towards free range and organic eggs, an increased market share in dyed eggs on the Belgian market. 
 

2000
2002

2002

The company continued to grow, and Bart's wife, Mieke Hofmans, 

joined E.K.E. team.

Company fire... Shortly after a busy Easter in 2003, the packing station burned to the ground due to a sudden peak in the power grid. Production was temporarily outsourced to colleagues to guarantee continuity for customers while the production building was rebuilt from scratch. 

2003

2007

Takeover of the Vanroy Egg Company in Bilzen. This increases the company's market share in dyed eggs. Production eventually outgrew the site on the Sint-Jorislaan the boiled dyed egg operation was temporarily relocated to the Berbroek Business Center. 

E.K.E. was proud to install a new fully automatic grading line for fresh eggs for the first time since its inception. In 2009, the MOBA Omnia 125 was the most modern grading machine in Belgium and could automatically detect broken eggs. The hourly capacity increased to 45,000 eggs/hour. 

2009

2010

The production of dyed eggs continued to grow. Because of stricter environmental legislation, EKE invested in a new EBM boiling and dying machine. The airbrush technique guarantees a fine, even layer of dye across the entire egg shell, while keeping dye bleed onto the cooked egg white to a minimum. E.K.E. also leased a new location for dyed egg production, moving to Industrieweg 1114. Bart and Mieke acquired 100% of the company's shares.

Following ongoing growth in the dyed egg business, E.K.E. installed a 2nd airbrush machine. The machine was custom built on site at the industrial estate by machine factory LASE. Hourly capacity for dyed egg increased to 9,000 eggs/hour. 

2011

2013

E.K.E. eventually purchased the site on the Industrieweg 1114. That same year, the buildings were expanded with 800 square metres of new construction.

E.K.E. then moved the packing operation from Sint-Jorislaan into the new buildings on the Industrieweg 1114 site, while commissioning a new MOBA Omnia 10, equipped with a packaging robot. The hourly capacity of fresh eggs increased to 60,000 eggs/hour. 

2014

2019

Move to the office building at Industrieweg 1114. E.K.E. currently processes 

150 million fresh eggs a year and 9 million dyed eggs.

Together with our 20 employees, we generate an annual turnover of 25 million euros. 

Your wholesaler for fresh eggs since 1982. Partner in grading and packing fresh eggs. 

BVBA E.K.E. Eierhandel Kumpen Eric

Industriezone Daelemveld 
Industrieweg 1114 
B3540 Herk-de-Stad

013 55 17 66

0477 72 88 24

info@eke-eieren.be 

E.K.E. Eieren 

Product Range

Fresh Eggs 

Production Process

NOTRE HISTOIRE 

1982

Le commerce d'œufs VKV est renommé commerce d'œufs EKE. Erik Kumpen et Irène Haesen reprennent l'entreprise dans laquelle ils étaient tous deux employés à l'époque.

EKE déménage de Kermt à Schulen à Herk-de-Stad. Derrière la maison de Saint-Joris 57, un nouveau hall est construit où les œufs sont classés.

1985

1999

Bart Kumpen - le fils d'Erik et Irène - rejoint la société. Quelques mois plus tard, la crise de la dioxine éclate. Les clients à l'exportation en Allemagne et au Luxembourg se retirent. Bart décide donc de suivre une nouvelle stratégie : mettre en place une gamme complète d'œufs destinés à la vente au détail en Belgique.

La gamme est élargie conformément à la nouvelle stratégie : début de la vente d'œufs de poules élevées en plein air, commercialisation de l'œuf Pick-Nick, premiers pas dans les œufs de poules élevées en plein air et les œufs biologiques, augmentation de la part de marché des œufs colorés sur le marché belge. 

2000
2002

2002

L'entreprise se développe et la femme de Bart, Mieke Hofmans, rejoint l'équipe EKE.

Incendie de l'entreprise... Peu après la période de forte activité de Pâques 2003, la centrale d'emballage brûle complètement en raison d'une brusque surcharge du réseau électrique. La production est ensuite temporairement sous-traitée à des collègues afin de garantir la continuité auprès des clients. Entre-temps, le centre de production est reconstruit de A à Z.

2003

2007

Reprise du commerce d'œufs Vanroy à Bilzen. C'est pourquoi la part de marché des œufs colorés augmente. Le site de production sur le Sint-Jorislaan devient trop petit et la production d'œufs durs colorés est temporairement déplacée vers le Berbroek Business Center. 

EKE est fier d'installer une nouvelle ligne de classement entièrement automatique pour les œufs frais pour la première fois depuis sa création. Le MOBA Omnia 125 est en 2009 la machine de calibrage la plus moderne de Belgique et peut détecter automatiquement les œufs cassés. La capacité horaire passe à 45 000 œufs/heure. 

2009

2010

La production d'œufs colorés est en hausse. En raison d'une législation environnementale plus stricte, EKE investit dans une nouvelle machine de cuisson et de coloration EBM. La technique de l'aérographe assure une couche de peinture fine et uniforme sur toute la coquille d'œuf, avec un minimum de migration de la peinture vers le blanc d'œuf cuit. EKE loue également un nouveau site pour la production d'œufs colorés : situé à Industrieweg 1114. Bart et Mieke acquièrent 100 % des actions.

Pour la croissance des œufs colorés, EKE installe une deuxième machine à aérographe. La machine est construite sur mesure dans la même zone industrielle par l'usine de machines LASE. La capacité horaire des œufs colorés passe à 9 000 œufs/heure. 

2011

2013

EKE achète le site à Industrieweg 1114. La même année, les bâtiments ont été agrandis. (800 mètres carrés de nouvelles constructions)

EKE déménage l'activité de la centrale d'emballage de Saint-Jorislaan vers les nouveaux bâtiments sur le site Industrieweg 1114. Mise en service simultanée du nouveau MOBA Omnia 10 avec le robot d'emballage. La capacité horaire de production d'œufs frais passe à 60 000 œufs/heure.

2014

2019

Occupation d'un immeuble de bureaux à l'Industrieweg 1114. L'EKE traite actuellement 150 millions d'œufs frais par an et 9 millions d'œufs colorés.

Avec nos 20 employés, nous réalisons un chiffre d'affaires de 25 millions d'euros. 

Votre grossiste en œufs frais depuis 1982. Partenaire dans le classement et l'emballage des œufs frais. 

BVBA E.K.E. Eierhandel Kumpen Eric

Industriezone Daelemveld 
Industrieweg 1114 
B3540 Herk-de-Stad

013 55 17 66

0477 72 88 24

info@eke-eieren.be 

E.K.E. Eieren 

Assortiment

Œufs frais 

Processus de production