BOILED EGG PRODUCTION 

#DIDYOUKNOW

We've often told our customers that we've got 15 people sitting around with a paintbrush all day... but that’s not how you dye 6 million eggs! 

No, all kidding aside, E.K.E. produces dyed eggs using 2 automatic lines: on one side fresh eggs go into the machine, on the other side boiled, dyed eggs are rolled out. 1 machine is active year round, the 2nd machine runs mainly from January to Easter (peak production).

 

Just like you do at home, first we boil the eggs in a water bath. The lead time is about 12 min at a temperature of about 95°C. Never 100°C, then too many eggs will break. We also make sure that the eggs are still a bit creamy in the centre of the yolk, which we do for 2 reasons: the egg tastes better and is easier to digest.

 

After leaving the boiling bath, suction cups individually place the boiled eggs on metal stands. A chain takes the stands to the paint stations. Once there, the eggs are painted using an airbrush technique. At that point, the eggshell is still 70°C. By turning the egg in combination with spray guns that move up and down, you get a thin layer of paint on the entire eggshell. The airbrush technique has the added advantage that with you can use a minimal amount of paint to cover a lot of shell surface area. This reduces the risk of paint accumulation and the chance that dye can leach through the eggshell onto the cooked egg white.

 

All of the lacquers we use are food safe. Basic components are shellac and Carnauba wax. Shellac ensures an airtight seal on the pores of the egg to give it a longer shelf life after it's boiled. Carnauba wax gives the dyed egg a nice sheen. It is important that the eggshell is still 70° when it's painted, so the paint dries quickly (alcohol component of the paint evaporates) and you get a nice shine right off the bat. All of our egg dyes are only produced in Germany, not coincidentally the home of the dyed egg.

 

After dyeing, the dried eggs are removed from the stands with suction cups and transported on a conveyor belt to a ventilation cabinet. When they enter the cabinet, the eggs are still 60°C, and after leaving the cooling tower they are cooled down to room temperature.

 

Then we pack the cooled eggs in boxes of 6 or 10. This is done manually for a specific reason: by squeezing the eggs, you can remove eggs with hairline cracks (cracks in the egg shell from the cooking process). A cracked egg is always easy to break and can then be thrown away. Did you know: an intact egg can withstand a pressure of 55 kg before breaking!

 

We then deliver daily to almost all of the supermarket distribution centres in Belgium. The next day, the eggs are on the shelves of your favourite supermarket!

Your wholesaler for fresh eggs since 1982. Partner in grading and packing fresh eggs. 

BVBA E.K.E. Eierhandel Kumpen Eric

Industriezone Daelemveld 
Industrieweg 1114 
B3540 Herk-de-Stad

013 55 17 66

0477 72 88 24

info@eke-eieren.be 

E.K.E. Eieren 

Product Range

Fresh Eggs 

Production Process

Your wholesaler for fresh eggs since 1982. Partner in grading and packing fresh eggs. 

BVBA E.K.E. Eierhandel Kumpen Eric

Industriezone Daelemveld 
Industrieweg 1114 
B3540 Herk-de-Stad

013 55 17 66

0477 72 88 24

info@eke-eieren.be

PRODUCTION 

D'ŒUFS DURS

#LE SAVIEZ-VOUS?

Depuis longtemps, nous disons à nos clients qu'il y a 15 personnes assises sur une chaise et qui travaillent au pinceau... Mais avec 6 millions d'œufs, vous vous doutez qu’on ne peut pas peindre comme ça ! 

 

Blague à part : E.K.E. produit des œufs colorés avec 2 lignes automatiques : d'un côté, les œufs frais entrent dans la machine, de l'autre côté, les œufs durs colorés sont déroulés. 1 machine est active toute l'année, la 2ème machine fonctionne principalement de janvier à Pâques.

 

Comme chez vous, nous faisons d'abord bouillir les œufs dans un bain-marie. Le délai est d'environ 12 minutes à une température d'environ 95°C. Jamais à 100 °C, sinon trop d'œufs cuisent. Nous nous assurons également que les jeunes d’œufs soient encore un peu crémeux, et ce pour deux raisons : l'œuf est plus savoureux et plus facile à digérer.

 

Après avoir quitté le bain marie, des ventouses déposent individuellement les œufs durs sur des supports métalliques. Une chaîne amène les trépieds aux stations de peinture. Une fois sur place, les œufs sont peints à l'aérographe. La coquille d'œuf est alors encore chaude à 70 °C. Grâce à la rotation de l'œuf combinée à des pistolets de pulvérisation qui se déplacent de haut en bas, vous obtenez une fine couche de peinture sur toute la coquille de l'œuf. La technique de l'aérographe présente l'avantage supplémentaire qu'avec un minimum de pigment, vous couvrez un maximum de surface de la coquille. Cela réduit le risque d'accumulation de peinture et donc la possibilité que le pigment passe à travers la coquille de l'œuf sur le blanc d'œuf cuit.

 

Toutes les laques utilisées conviennent pour les denrées alimentaires. Les composants de base sont la gomme-laque et la cire de carnauba. La gomme-laque assure l'étanchéité des pores de l'œuf pour créer une durée de conservation après cuisson. La cire de carnauba donne l'effet brillant à l'œuf coloré. Il est important que la coquille d'œuf soit encore chaude à 70° au moment de la peinture, afin que la peinture sèche rapidement (la composante alcoolique de la peinture s'évapore) et que vous obteniez immédiatement un beau brillant. Les peintures à l'œuf sont uniquement produites en Allemagne, et ce n'est pas un hasard si l'œuf coloré est commercialisé sur le marché national.

 

Après la peinture, les œufs déjà séchés sont à nouveau retirés des stands à l'aide de ventouses et transportés sur un convoyeur à bande vers une armoire de ventilation. À l'entrée de cette armoire, les œufs sont encore à 60 °C et, après avoir quitté la tour de refroidissement, ils sont refroidis à la température ambiante.

 

Ensuite, nous emballons les œufs refroidis dans des boîtes de 6 ou 10 pièces. Cette opération est effectuée manuellement pour une raison précise : en pressant les œufs, vous pouvez retirer les œufs présentant des fissures dans la coquille dues au processus de cuisson. Un œuf fissuré est rapidement cassé et peut ensuite être jeté. Le savez-vous ? Un œuf intact peut supporter une pression de 55 kg avant de se casser !

 

Nous livrons ensuite quotidiennement à presque toutes les filiales de supermarchés en Belgique. Le lendemain, les œufs sont dans les rayons de votre supermarché préféré !

 

Votre grossiste en œufs frais depuis 1982. Partenaire dans le classement et l'emballage des œufs frais. 

BVBA E.K.E. Eierhandel Kumpen Eric

Industriezone Daelemveld 
Industrieweg 1114 
B3540 Herk-de-Stad

013 55 17 66

0477 72 88 24

info@eke-eieren.be 

E.K.E. Eieren 

Assortiment

Œufs frais 

Processus de production